Presidential Error Coins

Over the past several years, the United States Mint has developed a reputation for outstanding production quality. Some collectors even lament the extraordinarily high percentage of coins graded 70 that it produces. It is remarkable, then, that presidential error coins have become relatively common. Since coin collectors, unlike just about any other group of people, value errors above perfection, these 2009-2010 presidential dollar error coins are considered highly collectible. Keep reading out to learn more about these rare missteps and to pick one up for your collection.

We can't find products matching the selection.

The First President; The First Error

The Presidential Dollar Series began in 2007, and right out of the gate errors were discovered. Since 1866, the national motto, “IN GOD WE TRUST,” has been required on all the nation’s coinage. George Washington error coins were born when the U.S Mint omitted this statutory inscription on the very first coin in the series. Uniquely, the national motto was meant to be inscribed on the rim in this series. Fortunately, specially designed capsules have been used for these error coins to enable the holder to see this error clearly.

2009-2010 Error Set

Just two years after the Washington error coin, problems again arose at the US Mint. The mint had just revised their process for adding edge lettering to coins prior to the start of the series. The new process involved striking the obverse and reverse of each coin and then striking it again to add edge lettering. In the case of Presidential Dollars, the edge lettering was supposed to include the date, the mint mark, and the motto “E PLURIBUS UNUM” (From many, one).

Two problems arose at the mint that led to what is now called the 2009-2010 Presidential Coin Error set. The first was quality control. A number of these coins just slipped through what now seem rather wide cracks. This was a rare black eye for the US Mint.

The second issue that arose was a security breach. A guard stole some coins before they were struck with their edge lettering in hopes of selling them on the black market. These coins could have sold to collectors for many times their face values. The mint did manage to catch the thief, but today some of the coins that he stole can be yours legally, as ownership of them is no longer prohibited by law. All told, the set includes the dollars of Presidents Harrison, Tyler, Polk, Taylor, Fillmore, and Pierce, the 2009 and 2010 Native American Dollars, and even a blank error dollar.